Resemble AI vs Speechify 2026

✓ Docs-verified · Sep 1, 2026◌ Not audio-tested△ What we could not verify

Published September 2, 2026 · This is a documentation-based comparison. Every figure below was read from the two vendors’ own sources on September 1, 2026 and carries that check date. No listening test has been run, so nothing here compares how the two providers sound.

The short answer

These two share a defect that ought to decide most commercial purchases: neither contract says you own the audio you generate. Resemble’s Terms contain no ownership clause at all, and the single occurrence of the word “output” in the whole document is a restriction. Speechify has no numbered clause assigning ownership either — its API terms classify output as “Customer Content” but defer that definition to a page where the phrase does not appear (both checked September 1, 2026).

They are also both hard to price, in different ways. Resemble’s published rate card covers deepfake detection, not speech. Speechify sells three separately-billed products under one brand, and its own FAQ confirms they are “two different subscriptions”.

Each has one genuinely strong offering, and neither is the hosted product. Resemble’s is its MIT-licensed open-source models, with an express commercial grant and no caps. Speechify’s is a $10-a-month API with the strictest cloning-consent design we have documented anywhere.

Comparison basis: official documentation only, checked September 1, 2026 — no accounts created, no API calls made, no audio generated, no scores assigned (how we verify).

Head-to-head on documented facts — verified September 1, 2026
Resemble AISpeechify
Output ownershipNot stated. The only occurrence of “output” in the Terms is a restrictionNot stated. No numbered clause; the API terms defer to definitions that do not appear on the cited page
Commercial useNo grant for hosted output; the open-source models carry an express grantTerms 4.4: services “with the exception of Speechify Voice Over Studio, are not intended for your commercial use”
Published speech priceNoneAPI: Free 50K chars hard cap; Starter $10/month with 1M chars, then $10/1M
What the rate card pricesDeepfake detection, not speechThree separate products with three separate ladders
Cloning accessDocumented as requiring the $1,000/month Business planIncluded on the $10/month API Starter plan
Cloning consentTerms 2(a): Resemble “may require consent”, and “Consent needs to be verbal”Verified by recording. The speaker reads a phrase Speechify issues; no unattended path exists
Free routeMIT-licensed open-source models, no account, no caps, commercial grantAPI free tier, 50K characters/month, described as a true hard cap
Self-hostingYes, documented, including on-premiseNo
SandboxNot applicable to the open-source pathNone. “Every API key is live”
WatermarkingApplied by default to every open-source generationNot identified as a default behaviour
Audio qualityNot compared. Our listening benchmark has not run, so this page assigns no naturalness verdict to either provider.
On this page

Winners by category

Every winner below is a documentation-based judgment from published prices, terms and feature documentation. None is a test result, and the categories that require listening have no winner.

Category winners — documentation-based judgments, verified September 1, 2026
CategoryWinnerWhy
Output ownershipNeitherNeither contract assigns ownership of generated audio. This is the headline finding
Cloning consent designSpeechifyConsent verified by recording with no unattended path, against a discretionary verbal standard
Cloning on a small budgetSpeechifyIncluded at $10/month against a documented $1,000/month gate
Free routeResemble AIMIT-licensed models with a commercial grant beat a 50,000-character hard cap
Published pricingSpeechifyThree ladders is confusing; no speech rate at all is worse
Self-hostingResemble AISpeechify offers nothing comparable
Commercial-use clarityResemble AI, narrowlySpeechify’s governing clause excludes almost everything, and its API card contradicts it
Developer candourSpeechifyIt documents that it has no sandbox and that paid spend caps are best-effort
WatermarkingResemble AIApplied by default on free output where nothing compels it
NaturalnessNo winnerRequires listening. Our benchmark has not run
Pronunciation and difficult textNo winnerRequires listening. Our benchmark has not run

The shared defect: nobody says you own it

This is the reason to read both contracts rather than either vendor’s marketing, and it is the strongest argument for looking elsewhere entirely.

Resemble’s Terms contain no ownership clause. We read the full document. A whole-word search returns exactly one occurrence of “output”, in the acceptable-use clause, and it is a prohibition on using output “to train, improve, or otherwise further develop your own or any third party’s product, service, or deepfake detection model.” Clause 2(b) separately defines “Resemble AI Materials” to include “audio, video … as well as all derivative works thereof” as “owned by us”, grants only a “revocable, limited-purpose right to access and use”, and states: “You are not permitted to download, copy or otherwise store any Resemble AI Materials.”

Speechify has no numbered clause either. Its API terms clause 1.1 classifies synthetic output as “Output” and “Customer Content”, but defers those definitions to “Business Terms” at its main terms page — a page which contains no occurrence of “Customer Content”, “Output” or “Business Terms” at all. The definitions its API contract relies on are not, as far as we can find, published. The one ownership statement Speechify makes is undated marketing copy in a pricing-page FAQ: “With Studio you own the audio output and commercial rights in perpetuity to use for your own projects.”

What this means for you: if your client contract requires you to warrant that you own delivered audio, neither of these vendors hands you that warranty. Amazon Polly states it in a numbered clause and OpenAI assigns it expressly — both are better answers to this specific question.

Resemble’s open-source path is the exception on this page: the MIT licence and its express commercial grant settle ownership and commercial rights completely.

Commercial use

Speechify’s governing clause excludes almost everything. Terms of Service clause 4.4 states, verbatim: “The Services, with the exception of Speechify Voice Over Studio, are not intended for your commercial use.” The same clause grants the carve-out: “Subject to your compliance with these Terms and any applicable additional terms, you may use Speechify Voice Over Studio AI voice overs for commercial purposes.” Against that, its API pricing page lists “Commercial use” as a feature of the free plan, and its Studio free plan card says “No commercial usage rights” — while clause 4.4 grants Voice Over Studio commercial use without distinguishing free from paid. Three official statements, pointing in different directions. The Terms of Service govern in a dispute.

Resemble’s hosted terms neither grant nor prohibit commercial use. The restrictions that exist concern sublicensing, “commercial time-sharing or service bureau use”, and building a competing product. There is no ordinary commercial-use grant.

The open-source route is where Resemble becomes unambiguous, and the wording is worth quoting: “You can use them in commercial products, self-host, modify the weights, and ship to production — no royalties, no revenue share, no usage caps.”

Cloning: price against process

Speechify wins on access and on consent design; Resemble wins on nothing here except the open-source alternative.

Speechify includes cloning at $10 a month on its API Starter plan, and its consent implementation is the strictest we have documented in this market. Verbatim: “Consent is verified, not asserted. You never send a checkbox or a signed form: the speaker reads a phrase Speechify issues, and the recording of them doing so is checked and retained as the consent record for the voice. On the current API version there is no create path that skips it.” The obvious workaround is closed explicitly: “Batch or unattended creation. There is no consent path without a speaker present.”

Resemble gates cloning at $1,000 a month — its documentation states “The Voice Cloning API requires a Business plan or higher”, and that plan’s published bullets never mention voice. Its consent standard is weaker on paper too: Terms clause 2(a) reads, with the vendor’s own typographical error, “Resemble may require consent form the individual or third party whose voice is being cloned. Consent needs to be verbal, unless otherwise stated by Resemble.” Discretionary, and verbal.

Two caveats keep this from being a clean sweep. Speechify’s API terms clause 1.4 forbids letting your own end users upload voice samples — “Customer cannot enable such External End Users to upload their own Audio Files to the AI Voice Service” — while its documentation designs a flow around exactly that. And on the consumer app, cloned voices cannot be exported: “You can use your cloned voice for your readings, but not download an MP3.”

Operational honesty

Both vendors disclose things most competitors leave you to discover, and both deserve credit for it.

Speechify documents that it has no sandbox: “The Speechify API has no separate test mode or sandbox environment. Every API key is live: requests bill real usage against your workspace balance and perform real actions.” It also documents that paid spend caps are not ceilings: “Enforcement is best-effort, not a hard ceiling.” Only the free tier is a true hard cap. Writing both of those down rather than letting you find out in production is unusually honest.

Resemble publishes a status page and a trust centre that contradict its own marketing. Its homepage badge reads “SOC 2 Type II — Independently audited security controls”, while its trust centre states the company is “currently in our SOC 2 Type 2 observation period”. Its integrations page advertises a 99.9% uptime SLA while its status page showed a 90-day figure of 99.425% on the detection API. Both disclosures are the company’s own, and a buyer whose procurement depends on the SOC 2 distinction should ask for the report directly.

One further Speechify note with a date attached: two model identifiers carry a published retirement schedule ending November 21, 2026, and the surviving streaming multilingual model documents seven locales against a marketing figure of 30+ languages. Verify the locales you need before committing.

Voice quality, pronunciation and naturalness

We have not compared how these two providers sound, and we will not imply otherwise.

Our standardized listening benchmark is designed but not running. Until it does, this page carries no naturalness verdict, no pronunciation comparison and no scores for either provider. Both vendors publish quality claims of their own; those belong to them, and we do not repeat them as findings.

Choose Resemble AI if · Choose Speechify if

Choose Resemble AI if:

Choose Speechify if:

Sources and what we could not verify

Every figure on this page was read from the two vendors’ official sources on September 1, 2026. Full detail is in the individual reviews: Resemble AI review and Speechify review. How we verify anything is described on the methodology page.

Official sources consulted — all checked September 1, 2026
SourceUsed for
resemble.ai/pricingThe detection rate card and its comparison rows
Resemble Terms of ServiceClauses 2(a), 2(b) and 8 — consent, materials ownership, the output restriction
Resemble cloning overviewThe Business-plan requirement
Chatterbox model pageMIT licence and the express commercial grant
Resemble trust centreThe SOC 2 observation-period statement
speechify.ai/pricingAPI plans, included characters, the free-tier hard cap, the commercial-use bullet
Speechify Terms of ServiceClause 4.4, the commercial-use exclusion and carve-out (updated July 1, 2025)
Speechify AI Voice API TermsClauses 1.1 and 1.4 — output definitions and the end-user upload prohibition
Speechify cloning consentThe verified-consent flow and the absence of an unattended path
Speechify testing safelyThe absence of a sandbox and live-key behaviour

What we could not verify

Honesty about gaps beats a page that looks complete. Genuinely unresolved as of September 1, 2026:

Change log

September 2, 2026 — First publication as a documentation-based comparison. All figures read from official vendor sources on September 1, 2026 and dated accordingly.

Published September 2, 2026 · When our audio benchmark runs, this page gains a head-to-head listening test using the same prompts and documented conditions for both providers, and the naturalness and pronunciation rows gain real winners (methodology). Independence note: this page contains no affiliate links, and no vendor paid for placement or influenced the order — see how we make money and our editorial policy.